Tully Trophy Time Again!

July 12, 2009 by  

BURBANK – Summer is here, and most local high school athletes are finally getting some time to relax after an eventful 2008-09 school year.

The year saw its share of remarkable achievements; successful teams and outstanding individuals who helped make the campaign memorable.

But along with the successes were disappointing moments and unique happenings that deserve recognition.

As is the yearly tradition, these deserving athletes, coaches and events from the four high schools — Burbank, Burroughs, Providence and Bellarmine-Jefferson highs — should be given special treatment.


So here is this year’s list of Tully Trophy winners. To be a recipient, an individual, team or school has to exhibit meritorious or worthy accomplishment. Either that, or they have to have done something stupid or strange.

So without further ado, here are the lucky winners:

• The Team-of-the-year trophy goes to the Bellarmine-Jefferson High girls’ basketball squad. Under Coach Bryan Camacho, the Guards became the first team in city history — in any sport — to capture a state championship. Bell-Jeff also won a CIF Southern Section Division VA title, its first in 12 years.

• The Athlete-of-the-year trophy is given to Burroughs distance runner Western Nelson. He became the first Indians boys’ runner to advance to the CIF-State Cross-Country meet (finishing 15th) and also advanced to the CIF-State Track and Field Championships in the boys’ 3,200 meters (finishing 16th). Nelson also set the school record in the 3,200.

• The Triple-threat trophy is awarded to Burroughs three-sport athlete Chris Morris. Not only was he an All-Area honoree in football and boys’ basketball, but he was also a standout in track and field, advancing to CIF Southern Section Division I finals in the boys’ 400. Morris is headed to Northern Colorado on a football scholarship.

• The Lucky-seven trophy is given to Bell-Jeff baseball Coach Hector Perez. The coach got his team to the postseason for the seventh straight time, something no other local baseball program can boast. The Guards won their Division VI wild-card game against La Sierra Academy, 19-1, to earn only the program’s second-ever postseason win.

• The Hate-to-see-you trophy is awarded to Providence volleyball Coach James Jimenez. There was a group of fine coaches who stepped aside or were swept aside this past season. Jimenez was one of them. He headed the Pioneers girls’ and boys’ programs, and along with being a fine coach, he is also a nice guy.

• The What-were-you-thinking trophy? Is given to an unidentified Burroughs boys’ tennis supporter. The guy, who was either a parent or someone associated with the team, yelled and belittled Burbank baseball Coach Bob Hart during a match at the school. With the tennis courts adjacent to the baseball field, the man didn’t like the idea of Hart making noise and kicking up a little dirt tending to his field during the match. Let’s just say Hart wasn’t at all pleased with the guy telling him what to do on his own home field.

• The Take-a-chill-pill trophy goes to an unnamed Burroughs tennis player. After getting into argument prior to a match with Burbank, the Indians player lost a set. After the loss, he obliterated his racket against a wall outside the court. He then proceeded to walk down the street next to the school, cursing and hitting street signs.

• The Finally trophy is awarded to the Burbank football team. The Bulldogs pulled off a major upset in the first round of the Southeast playoffs, defeating No. 2 Santa Fe, 20-14. It was the Bulldogs first CIF win in 81 years.

• The Instant-impact trophy goes to Bell-Jeff freshman Rishonda Napier. In her first season with the Guards’ basketball team, the guard helped the team win CIF and state titles. She earned first-team All-CIF and all-league honors, averaging 14.1 points, 3.8 rebounds, 3.8 assists and 2.6 steals a game.

• The Glad-you’re-here trophy is awarded to Burbank baseball player Lonnie Kauppila. After transferring from Crescenta Valley, the junior shortstop helped the Bulldogs make the postseason. He batted .508 (30 for 77) and had 12 home runs to earn first-team All-CIF and all-league accolades.

• The It’s-about-time trophy is given to those involved in the renovation of the Burbank and Burroughs sports facilities. Construction has finally begun at Burbank High. Let’s just see if the project gets finished on schedule.

• The Sister-act trophy goes to Emily and Sarah Tubert. Emily, a junior at Burroughs, won the Pacific League championship in girls’ golf — by a whopping 12 strokes — and earned Rolex Junior All-American honors. Sarah, a sophomore goalkeeper for Burbank, helped the Bulldogs win a Pacific League title and advance to the Division IV quarterfinals in water polo.

• The Well-done trophy is given to everyone involved in the Burbank centennial celebration. A lot of people put in a great deal of time and effort to make the festivities a success, and the hard work paid off. Kudos also to the hall of fame election committee which made some fine picks.

All this year’s recipients can now come up and accept their awards, and please, make your speeches brief.

Jeff Tully

Thanks for stopping by, we would appreciate your thoughts, why not leave us a comment?


Feel free to leave a comment...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!